top of page
  • Writer's pictureObert Reyes III

My Hotel Experience: Somerset Hotel Ampang - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Updated: Feb 6, 2021

My first visit to Kuala Lumpur was two months ago and although I enjoyed it a lot, it wasn't a very satisfying trip because there were a lot of tourist attractions on my bucket list that I wasn't able to see because of the weather condition. One thing that I failed to take note of is the Northeast Monsoon season from September to November and I didn't realize that it's not a good time to visit the country in these months. My 3-day stay in Kuala Lumpur last October just made me stay indoors lurking inside the hotel as it was raining like crazy in the streets the entire day. According to my friend Amin, who is a local of Kuala Lumpur, that December is one of the best months to visit the city because of the holiday season and also because of the good weather. Technically, December is still part of the Northeast Monsoon but the frequency of hard rain starts to wane making it a better month to visit the country than October. I planned to go back to Kuala Lumpur on the 4th of December and will stay until the weekend hoping to have a better adventure than my previous visit.


I initially planned to stay in the same hotel when I was in the country two months ago (see My Hotel Experience: Pacific Regency Hotel Suites) but the hotel is already fully-booked on my chosen dates. I started skimming Priceline to check out other options until I came to a property that looked very promising and a perfect alternative. Aside from that, it lies on the same street where the Petronas Tower is and it's as close as the previous hotel where I stayed in. The photos on the website all looked stunning and impressive and all the things that I usually look for in a hotel are on their list. Without further ado, I booked a room for a 3-night stay at Somerset Kuala Lumpur.




I booked the Deluxe One-Bedroom for $183.97 including taxes and fees for three nights online through Priceline. As I have expected, the RM30.00 for the Tourism Fee will be charged separately, upon arrival at the hotel. The booking confirmation and the payment receipt was sent to my email almost instantaneously and I printed them right away as a backup. I flew to Kuala Lumpur on the 4th of December amidst the super typhoon that was currently devastating the southern part of my country. Luckily, the storm has already weakened on the day of my flight so I was able to arrive in Malaysia safe and sound.


My plane landed at Kuala Lumpur International Airport at 10:56 am and it took me almost an hour waiting for my luggage at the conveyor belt. I booked a Grab taxi for RM75.80 and I was picked-up just before noon at their designated departure gate. We hit the road for an hour and a half until we finally drove through Jalan Ampang where Suria KLCC is, and I reached the hotel at 1:21 pm. There are no hotel doormen to meet you at the doorstep since the entrance is a sensor-operated sliding door, but as soon as you step in, the front desk officers readily welcome you with their best smiles. I handed them over my passport and the printout of the confirmation as soon as I got in and they prepared my keycard as quick as lightning. I hope it wasn't an oversight but they didn't collect a deposit for hotel incidentals and I was only asked for the RM30.00 for the Tourism Tax which is required in all hotel bookings. Finally, the receptionist laid down my keycard on the desk and that was only a quick 6-minute arrangement! It's exactly what a tired guest is always looking forward to when checking in.



As I was still thanking the reception officer, I was surprised when a hotel attendant emerged from behind, which I didn't notice at first, offering to wheel my luggage. I politely declined since I only have one suitcase and a backpack anyway so he walked me over to the lift instead. He pressed the button for me and told me that Room 903 is on the left. The elevator is not as claustrophobic as the other hotels that I have been to because of the mirrors that are installed around it. And there is an important announcement that caught my eye on its walls, informing guests that bringing in durian in the hotel premises is strictly prohibited.



I was the only passenger in the elevator at that time so it quickly jumped to my designated floor. It opened in a quiet lobby with, at first thought, a poorly-lit corridor leading to my room on the left aisle. But as I stepped out of the elevator, the walkway beamed into bright light as soon as the sensor detected movement in the area. I was quite impressed!



Room 903 is at the rear side of the building and my room is the last door at the left. When I opened the door, my jaw dropped and my heart skipped a beat for a moment. It's by far the most lavish and spacious room I have ever been to on my trips abroad. I fell in love with this room in an instant. The room isn't the typical single unit with the usual lodging essentials like a bed, toilet, television, table, and chairs all cramped in one location. It's a 53 sqm apartment-type with four separate units that make up the living/dining room, bathroom, kitchenette, and bedroom.



LIVING/DINING ROOM


From the entrance door, the first area is the living-cum-dining room which is the widest quarter in the room. The wooden dining table is quite spacious as it can accommodate 4 people, more apt for guests with family members. One of the hotel's amenities is the in-house restaurant on the ground floor called Souled Out Restaurant where I had an intercontinental breakfast spread. Although there are tons of restaurants and fast-food centers nearby, room service for dinner is an enjoyable idea. I ordered a Curry Laksa and a can of soda for RM31.30 and it was delivered to my room in just a few minutes. The curry laksa was so huge (and fiery hot!) that it took me almost an hour to finish it.



The living room with its homey loveseat is quite cozy and very relaxing, yet I didn't spend so much time in here. Although it's fully equipped with a home entertainment system and a flat-screen television with cable channels, I still preferred watching TV at night lying in bed since the bedroom has its own TV set as well, albeit smaller. I liked the comfy armchair which I sit on in the morning while sipping hot coffee as I stare at the breaking of dawn in the veranda. The room is facing southward though, so I have to sit towards the left so I can see the sunshine while admiring the majestic beauty of Kuala Lumpur through its city line.




KITCHENETTE


At the right side of the entrance door is the mini kitchen fully-equipped with the best equipment for guests' personal use. I have never really used any facilities of a hotel kitchen in all of my trips abroad as I always prefer to satisfy my dining pleasure by eating at nearby restaurants or fast-food centers in the city where I go to. More often than not, kitchens only serve as a place for me to make my morning coffee but I drink it by the window, or if a terrace is available.


The 2-door fridge was the only usable appliance for me since I always want my canned soda cold along with the complimentary bottled water which I bring with me whenever I go out. My mornings will never be complete without a cup of coffee so the electric kettle is handy for my instant coffee mix. Although the room is equipped with a complete set of coffee and tea making facilities in the cupboard, I got used to using the same cup every day which I get to wash right after I finish it.



It's pretty amazing to see other amenities in the kitchen like a toaster, built-in microwave oven, glassware, crockery, cutlery, and utensils but I never get to use them. Cooker hob and hood are a must for kitchenettes in the hotel but I never used them for cooking. Nevertheless, they serve their purpose by disguising themselves as night lamps when I sleep at night. And best of all, there is a washing machine and dryer next to the fridge which only acted as a white elephant in my entire stay.




BATHROOM


Just behind the living room is the bathing area right next to the bedroom. I think this is the cleanest area in the room that the housekeeping attendants ensure it's always at its spick and span state before I come home at night. It's my favorite spot in the room where I would place my portable Bluetooth speakers in the morning and play an Ed Sheeran playlist on Spotify. I can hear his voice wherever I go, and I can sing along with his "Castle on the Hill" while in the shower.



The best part of it is that the bathtub is just right next to the glass panel where you can be enamored of the beauty of the crack of dawn, as the rays of the morning sun start creeping through the clouds while you are wallowing in the tub's frothy soap bubbles. The shower area has both handheld and rainfall showerheads and is conveniently installed right next to the bathtub, making it easier to rinse without having to walk cautiously at a distance keeping yourself from slipping on the floor. Most importantly, complimentary bath amenities are being replenished every day and the towels are replaced with new ones.



BEDROOM


The innermost area is the bedroom which is almost the same size as the living and dining room. Sitting in the middle of the room is a king-size bed neatly wrapped with a down feather comforter and duvet covers. It's loaded with down pillows of varying sizes which are totally sleep-inducing and very comfortable. I turn off all the lights when I sleep at night except for the corner lamp just beside the bed's headboard where there is a USB port wall charger outlet for charging my devices to get them all powered up for the next day's adventure. Note that Malaysia has Type G sockets so it's best to always bring a travel adapter/converter for any devices whose charging cords are not USB-type like laptops and other gadgets. The bedroom also has a flat-screen television with cable channels which is more of a personal use size compared to what's in the living room.



A walk-in closet is available in the corner which also works as a storage area or a dressing room in cases where multiple guests are occupying the room. Three of the common room amenities that I always look for in a hotel room are unbelievably present and are readily available in the closet without having to request for them. An (1) umbrella is a must if you are in the world's 7th rainiest country, a (2) bathrobe, is what I always expect to see in the closet as I don't normally pack loads of house clothes and I prefer to just be on it when I'm back from roaming outside, and (3) disposable flip-flops are essential to me since I'm not the type who would wear socks indoors. Other amenities that I found in the closet which I didn't get to use are an in-room electronic safe, steam iron, ironing board, with extra down pillows and comforter, and surprisingly, there's a weighing scale!



For business travelers like me, a working desk in the bedroom is a must! Right at the foot of the bed is a sturdy wooden table that is designed for both working and as a vanity table, as well. The seat could've been better if an ergonomic chair was paired up with the desk but an ordinary upholstered chair is what's available. This didn't affect my overall satisfaction with the room though, since I only spend a few minutes to an hour in this area.




AMENITIES


SOULED OUT RESTAURANT


I usually book a room packaged with airport transfer and buffet breakfast for absolute convenience in instances where it's (1) my first-time to such a country, or if (2) I visit a far-flung area of a country, or if (3) I hit a non-English speaking country. Since all three of them do not suit the criteria when I visited Kuala Lumpur for the second time, I ditched the idea of having a buffet breakfast in the hotel and opted to enjoy finding restaurants near the hotel on my own instead where I can satisfy my palate with authentic Malaysian cuisine.


Somerset Hotel has an in-house restaurant located on the ground floor just within the entrance gate which is not hard to miss especially for wayfarers like me. I didn't realize at first that the room service that I had in my dinner was from this restaurant. It is more common, in my opinion, that in-room dining services are served from the hotel's internal kitchen and not from a commercial restaurant. On my third day, however, while I was on my way to the Intermark Mall for my breakfast, their poster caught my eye so I inquired from one of the attendants at the front desk if I am entitled to a complimentary intercontinental breakfast spread. Of course, it isn't a surprise when I was told that I wasn't but as a guest of Somerset Hotel, I am welcome to have breakfast with just a minimal amount.



The attendant walked me over to the cashier, where I was asked for my room number, and I was billed RM20.90 for my buffet breakfast. My jaw almost dropped! RM20.90 for buffet breakfast? I paid RM21.00 for a Big Breakfast with Sausage McMuffin in McDonald's just the other day and I had to walk 270 meters to get there. I didn't waste time so I immediately picked one of the plates and started stuffing it with whatever my eyes caught and settled in a table just near the buffet stand. There were only a few diners at that time, probably because it's already 9:26 am when I came in, and the complimentary breakfast is only from 6:30 am to 10:30 am. It's not the best breakfast ever but it's totally worth every penny if the intention was to binge eat and enjoy the sunrise at an al fresco restaurant by the hotel.




GYM, POOL, and LOUNGE


On my second night in the Somerset Hotel, I planned to see Petronas Twin Towers again to make better pictures as its backdrop since I didn't quite have nice shots when I first came because it was raining the whole week. The weather that night was perfect for a photoshoot so I gathered my tripod and camera and headed to the lift. Before I could even press the button for the ground floor, a poster on the elevator caught my eye telling guests that the swimming pool at the 22nd level is open from 6am-11pm. A different idea suddenly popped in my head so I pressed 22 and the elevator got pulled up in an instant.


The door opened to a wide expanse at the rooftop and I was in total awe! Not only did I find the swimming pool at the building's summit but a majestic view of Kuala Lumpur's skyline at night unfolded right through my eyes. I couldn't help myself but take panoramic shots of the vast spectacle and some random pictures of the gleaming lights of the cityscape. The view is not just what the 22nd level has to offer though, but surprisingly, there's a lot of amenities for guests that can be enjoyed for.



I think the swimming pool is the main attraction here, but since I wasn't dressed up for a pool party, I couldn't indulge in one. Surprisingly, there is an airconditioned fitness center right next to the pool where a lot of guests are gathered to work up a good sweat. What's a better view running on a treadmill than by staring at all those city lights in the heart of Kuala Lumpur? Just a few steps from the gym is a cool place to relax and you will find a gazebo-like space called the residents' lounge where you can unwind and look at the city view with pleasure. The rooftop is open for 24 hours and you can enjoy all these amenities except for the swimming pool which closes before midnight.



The 5 basic requirements in my checklist to satisfy my stay in a hotel are the following:


1. Location - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

My usual main purpose in booking a particular hotel, above everything else, is one where it is strategically located near all the tourist areas that I wanted to go to. My four main destinations on this trip are Petronas Twin Towers, Batu Caves in Selangor, Masjid Putra in Putrajaya, and Masjid Jamek in the city center. Petronas Twin Towers is a 15-minute walk from the hotel, Selangor is a 20-minute drive towards the north of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya is 30 minutes away from the south, and Masjid Jamek is a 15-minute drive to the west. These landmarks make Somerset Hotel in Jalan Ampang the central location and it's no doubt my perfect spot!


2. Comfort and Cleanliness - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I couldn't be happier seeing my room transform from a total state of disorder to a complete makeover as neat as a pin when I come back home at night. It always feels like the first day whenever I enter the door as everything is back in place, that you just want to lay down, rest, and forget all the worries in life. It doesn't feel like a hotel room, it's a place of bliss!


3. Customer Service - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

There's nothing more a guest can look forward to whenever he stays in a hotel than getting the kind of feeling like he is the most important person that has ever stepped into the property. Although it's a little awkward sometimes, but every time you are seen walking in the lobby, almost all hotel staff you meet along the way greet you untiringly. And on my last day, I asked one of the front desk officers to scan a document for me and save it on my flash disk. She said however that she'll email me the scanned copy instead (which then I realized that external devices are high risk for security) and before I could even reach my room, my phone buzzed and the email has already arrived. I know these are just little things for some but I consider them service deluxe!


4. Safety and Security - ⭐⭐⭐


There was an instance where my keycard suddenly doesn't work and it wouldn't open the door. I noticed the housekeeping cart parked in the adjacent room and I realized that the room attendant has all-access keycards so she may be able to help me unlock my door. I immediately called her attention and asked for help. To my surprise, however, the room attendant swiped her card at my door right away and even propped the door open until I was able to get in. I was very thankful but I was stunned at the same time. I was under the impression that she was supposed to (1) verify if I really am the guest booked in that room, or (2) confirm my room number just to check if I really am attempting to open the correct door. What if I'm not really a guest in the hotel and I only found the keycard somewhere? What if I have mistaken the wrong room as mine and she let me in? What if it's someone else and it wasn't me? I guess it's not really a big issue but after that incident, I felt that my security is a bit compromised. I still feel safe in the hotel, however, but being a foreigner, I know it is my utmost responsibility to always be cautious and take extra care of not just my belongings but myself, most importantly.


5. Amenities - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


It's so far the first hotel that I have stayed in where all the features and amenities that I have been expecting to have are all in it without having to request for them. In fact, what the hotel has is more than what I needed and it totally exceeded my expectation. There's nothing more that I could've asked for, as they are all readily available. It's too bad that I didn't get to stay longer to enjoy all these.



OVERALL RATING - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


As of this writing, Somerset Hotel in Jalan Ampang is what I would consider the best hotel that I have ever stayed in, so far. My stay was a delight and I was extremely satisfied. The security issue may not be a big deal and I considered it as an isolated issue. When I come back to Kuala Lumpur again in the future, no doubt, Somerset Hotel would be on top of my list to be my temporary home!


bottom of page