top of page
  • Writer's pictureObert Reyes III

From Manila to Vadodara - My Trip to Incredible India!

Updated: Nov 13, 2020

I have flown to the north, east, and south but I have never been westward and I think it's time to go to where the sun sets and see the spectacular view over that horizon. There are a lot of countries that are on my bucket list to see in the west of my country, and India is one Asian country that I have always been fascinated to explore.


Whenever one talks about traveling to India, the most common places you hear from them includes the National Capital Territory of Delhi, the top choice for foreign visitors to explore how incredible India is; while the city of Agra in the state of Uttar Pradesh is one of the most sought tourist destinations because of the magnificent Taj Mahal marble mausoleum along the Yamuna River. My former bosses when I was in the call center are all from Tamil Nadu and I have heard that Chennai in the eastern region of the country is one of the most visited cities in the world; whereas Maharashtra at the other end of India is highly exalted of Mumbai, known to be The City of Dreams, the country's wealthiest of all its cities yet the most populated in the entire country.


"That's so mainstream!" is what I always hear from one of my favorite professors in college whenever people talk about something trendy. And just like him, I didn't want just another story to tell from these same old places so I thought of seeking other spots where I will witness a vibrant history of art and architecture, one in which heritage and culture are preserved in its monumental prominence as shown in its century-old murals and world-renowned institution. I read about the incumbent Prime Minister of India being born in the state of Gujarat, which lies at the western coast bordering the southeastern tip of Pakistan, and I find it interesting to see the place where he came from. Out of its 33 districts, I found one interesting city which harbors some of the finest and most magnificent temples in India. And they are all found in Vadodara, my next travel destination!



Manila to Hong Kong


Getting to Vadodara from Manila is energy-draining because there are no airlines that fly straight to the city. It will take 3 flights and 2 airlines - from Manila to either Hong Kong, Beijing, or Bangkok; then fly to Delhi with a long layover; then transfer to a domestic flight to Vadodara. I got myself booked to a Cathay Pacific flight, my first time with this airline, from Manila to Hong Kong on August 17, 2019, during the time of civil unrest in Hong Kong International Airport where there was news about activities arising from a mass act of riot and strike and there were hostilities between participants and the authorities. I see that there was extreme difficulty in maintaining public safety and order in Hong Kong and I was a little anxious about my safety on my first layover.


I checked-in early at Ninoy Aquino International Airport at 10:00am for my 12:35pm flight but as soon as I reached the boarding area at Terminal 3, it was announced that the plane will be delayed for an hour and a half. Consequently, not because of the civil disturbance in Hong Kong but because of the weather condition. When the plane arrived, we all hopped into the Boeing 777-300 aircraft, and surprisingly, the plane is full house despite the travel advisory. While we were cruisin' at 35,000 feet, the pilot announced over the PA system that we may have a bumpy ride because there will be a lot of air pockets ahead due to inclement weather. I took several pictures outside my window but nothing in the clear skies show any weather disturbances.


It was a smooth-as-silk 2 hours and 19 minutes flight and we landed at Hong Kong International Airport at 4:20pm for 1 hour and 45 minutes layover before my flight to Delhi. It's my first time getting into connecting flights so technically, I didn't know what to do. I approached one of the airport ground staff and asked how I should get to the boarding area for my next flight. I was asked for my boarding pass so they can tell me what gate I should go to and what time I should expect to be boarded. I told her I don't have one yet so she instructed me to go to the Transfer Desk of Air India in Level 5 to secure a boarding pass.


Air India check-in counter is easy to be found probably because of their logo's color that makes it easy for the retina to catch attention. There seem to be no other passengers transferring to Air India but me, so I was the only one who approached the counter and I was immediately served. The staff isn't so friendly but she was very accommodating somehow, answering all my stupid questions and explaining everything I need to know to make my flight worry-free. One of the things I am anxious about is my checked-in luggage which I wasn't sure if I had to pick it up at the belt or if it will be automatically transferred to my next aircraft. Luckily, it was the second choice. So I don't really have to worry about it. The staff handed over the two boarding passes for my flights from Hong Kong to Delhi and from Delhi to Vadodara. There's just one problem though, there is no assigned gate for AI 315 yet which I had to monitor in the next two hours.


I stayed at Level 5 while waiting for the announcement of the gate and walked towards the south of the airport until I reached the shopping centers. There were tons of people and I don't feel the tension of the civil disturbance as shown on TV. The gatehouses are peaceful, the shops are in hustle and bustle to accommodate a large number of shoppers, lounges have people with smiling faces, and most of all, the entire place is an epitome of calm, amicable, and pleasant sojourn for travelers like me. I then found myself sitting at the arrival area among the lounges where a peaceful environment awaits tired passengers with soothing music and a patio-like garden for relaxation and leisure. Just a few minutes after, I noticed on the monitor that the column next to the blinking AI 315 already has a gate number assigned to it. I hurriedly ran up to Level 6 where the departure area is, looking for the assigned gate number. Their lounges are cozier than the lower level.




Hong Kong to Delhi


At exactly 5:45pm, the Air India crew started to call passengers to board the Boeing 787-8 aircraft. I was really ecstatic because, in a few hours, I am finally seeing India, but a little apprehensive at the same time because it seems that I am the only non-Indian passenger that is aboard the plane. I am a conspicuous object at this point and I feel like an eyesore that's ruining the natural beauty of the place.


My seat is on 24A and thankfully, it's just near the door so I was able to tuck myself in quickly and tried to be in stealth mode so I won't be sticking out like a sore thumb. I was seated right next to an elderly Indian couple who seemed to be friendly as the old man constantly asks me what time it is although I see that he wears a wristwatch, perhaps to build rapport and make myself comfortable in the flight. Thanks to him, it is effective. As the sun gradually sets in the west, the plane took off at 6:05pm amidst the pouring rain and reached cruising altitude in minutes. I was already in famish as my last food intake was the in-flight meal in Cathay Pacific so I made myself ready for the big meal, drooling secretly as I imagine devouring my first authentic Indian food to date.



Just a few minutes later, I got fired up when I heard from a distance the familiar sound of a rolling service trolley. "Here comes the feast, let's binge!" I whispered to myself. In awe, I watched the ravishing flight attendant who is wrapped in a purple and orange Sari serve food in a small tray. In a small tray! I was greatly astounded as she handed me over a small packet of snack food that reads Haldiram's Moong Dal and a glass of soda. "I am starving that I can eat the entire airline seat and this is what is being served in an Air India flight?" I was fuming as I mumbled like I wanted to burst into flames.


I didn't have much of a choice so I munched it like there's no tomorrow. In a matter of minutes, I ate the entire thing. I asked for another glass of soda so I would feel bloated and I may not feel hungry anymore. The flight attendant came back with two cans (yes, you read it right, that's two, not just one) of Coke, and gave me both with her enchanting smile. Whoah! That blew me away. Now, Air India has just topped up my Coke experience from Philippine Air Lines and United Air Lines.*




It's a grueling 5 hours and 45 minutes flight and I had to endure the hunger before I can eat a more decent meal at the airport when we land. I tried not to feel ravenous so I closed my eyes and did my usual meditation exercises to force myself to sleep. I relaxed and mentally released all the tensions from my muscles, focused on my breathing, taking in deep breaths from my nose, holding it for a few seconds, and releasing it. In a few minutes, my mind starts to wander and I feel afloat in limbo, witnessing a spectrum of vivid colors and white noise starts creeping in my cold ears. This is the usual stage that I find myself finally set in a deep sleep, and lucid dreams gain control of my altered consciousness. I visualized myself in a banquet, meeting face to face with a wide variety of regional and traditional Indian cuisines, finally tasting my first-ever Indian food. My imagination was too strong that the sound of the familiar rolling service trolley came back to life and I can even smell the spicy, pungent, and aromatic meal so real.


"Would you like a vegetarian meal or meat, sir?" is a question that I suddenly heard which sounded so close. I slowly opened my eyes and from my peripheral vision is an apparition of a lady wearing purple and orange Sari standing in the aisle right next to the service trolley. It's the flight attendant! Holy cow, it's not just her, but a banquet of food that I have just visualized. I wasn't dreaming! She was really serving real food, my first real taste of Indian food. I was so overjoyed that I wanted to kiss all passengers. I savored my first bite and I really enjoyed every minute of munching and chewing and swallowing one of the best-tasting food I have had to date.



We landed at Indira Gandhi International Airport, this year's #59 in World's Top 100 Airports, at 9:20pm India Standard Time. The elderly couple beside me didn't stand up and the old man gestured making way for me to get to the aisle. I told him I am not in a hurry so I'll wait for them to pack their things up but he said the plane is not unloading everyone else yet, because it's flying them to Mumbai, their final destination. That's when I realized that only a handful of us are exiting and the majority of the passengers are staying to get to Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport.


The airport in Delhi is a huge aviation hub and one of the busiest airports I have been to, with all ground staff in arms and in uniform, that almost seemed like a military airport. I went straight to a money changer station to have my $200 changed. I got ₹13,326 for a 5-day budget and went straight to the immigration to get my eVisa exchanged for multiple visa stamp. It was almost 11:00pm and there was almost no one around so it was all done quickly. I was led to the assigned belt to pick up my luggage and walked a long mile to get to the transfer gate leading to the domestic terminals for my next flight to Vadodara at 4:45am, which gives me 7 hours and 25 mins time to sleep.


The lounge at Boarding Gate 30 is cozy and very spacious. No one is still around as there were a lot of unoccupied chairs so I am guessing all the other passengers will arrive only a few minutes before the 4:25am boarding time. I looked around and there were only a few people waiting, maybe 5 to 8 of them, lying comfortably on the Sleeping Pods. I found my own niche in one of the luxurious connecting seats at the lounge and I remember suddenly that I still have one more can of Coke in my belt bag courtesy of Air India so I brought it out and quenched my thirst. All's good except that I can't find a free WiFi connection to update my family that I arrived in India safe and sound. I have to wait until tomorrow to get to the next airport so I can tell them not to worry because I'm alright, after worrying for almost a day about not hearing from me. Since I have nothing else to do, I shut my eyes instead and tried to get asleep.




Delhi to Vadodara


I was awakened by the increasing sound of clattering voices and continuous footsteps walking around the lounge. I opened my eyes and looked at my watch and it is now almost 4:00am on August 18, just in time for the boarding at AI 823 bound to Vadodara. I think I had at least 3 to 4 hours of sleep and it's enough energy replenished to battle another 1 hour and 35 minutes flight to get to Vadodara Airport. At exactly 4:25am, the ground crew called for boarding and passengers started to embark for the A321 Airbus. My assigned seat is 16B, a middle chair, which I always hated because I don't feel comfortable being sandwiched by two strangers I will not talk to for the duration of the flight. My seatmate on the window side is an Indian and the one on the aisle looks Caucasian and we all greeted each other with a quick nod.


I've somehow expected that Airbus is what will be used for this domestic flight but what I did not expect is that it didn't have anything I needed. There is no in-flight entertainment, no electrical outlet for gadgets, no internet access, and the legroom is just enough for a hypnic jerk when you doze off due to boredom. At around 4:45am, the plane took off going southward as I watch the break of dawn in awe. From where I am seated, I see the morning twilight in the east that heralds the beginning of a new day, letting me know how blessed I am to see the beauty of this natural creation.


In my domestic flight experiences in the Philippines, food is not served on flights less than 2 hours. My expectation was set that my first breakfast in India will be an Italian BMT sandwich in a Subway restaurant just a stone's throw away from the hotel where I will be checking-in. But good things really come in surprisingly small packages, my favorite sound of the rolling service trolley is once again heard, and the smell of the aromatic Indian food started to fill the pressurized air. A light breakfast is served, yet very sumptuous and delectable. I really enjoyed every second of my ingestion of the food and made sure I finish everything served on the tray although I am not sure I am eating them the right way they should be eaten.


At 6:20am, our plane landed at Vadodara Airport while the upper limb of the sun appears on the horizon. What a glorious way to welcome me to my new adventure in this land of warriors. Namaste Vadodara!



19 views0 comments
bottom of page